Get the latest score from Howlin' Wolf Records “DON'T GO IN THE HOUSE”, “HOLIDAY HELL” and “GOOD TID

Milan Records: "LITTLE FISH" music by Keegan DeWitt

Milan Records today announces the February 5 release of LITTLE FISH (ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK) with music by composer KEEGAN DEWITT.  Available for preorder now, the album features music from the sci-fi pandemic romance and 2020 Tribeca Film Festival standout directed by Chad Hartigan, and marks the fourth score collaboration between longtime friends DeWitt and Hartigan.  Starring Olivia Cooke, Jack O’Connell, Raúl Castillo and Soko, Little Fish will make its debut in select theaters and on VOD nationwide February 5 from IFC Films.

Of the soundtrack, composer KEEGAN DEWITT says, “Little Fish is truly unique in that it reunites me with two of my closest friends of almost 20 years: Director Chad Hartigan and Cinematographer Sean McElwee. Sean and Chad were my roommates when I first moved to LA, and we began dreaming of making movies together, driving through LA at night listening to our favorite music and dreaming really big. It’s a true refreshing joy to get to team up with them again, not only because we are friends, but because the collaborations with Chad are wide open in terms of score, and he lets me explore to my fullest. There are certain films that unlock something almost instantly for me musically, and I think that shows in our primary big string theme. It nods at my heroes Michael Nyman and Marjan Mozetich, and has a ‘lightning in a bottle’ feel, where every time you hear it, you’re instantly there with Olivia and Jack’s characters, clinging to memory and love, in a hopefully timeless way.”

“Keegan has been scoring my films for thirteen years and we have been friends for over twenty,” adds director CHAD HARTIGAN.  “I always have him come in as early as possible, before we even shoot, and his work often informs not just how the movie is going to sound but also how it'll look and feel. That was especially true with Little Fish since we wrote and recorded the key song in pre-production and I listened to it constantly on the drives to and from set. In a non-narrative story that explicitly deals with feelings, memories, nostalgia and love, the score had to be the compass that guided it all together seamlessly and Keegan of course delivered. Casting Soko and having her help contribute to the soundtrack was a dream come true ever since I saw her play a small solo show at the Bootleg Theater in LA back in 2010. Once you see her perform or act for yourself, then you know what I mean. I'm thrilled to have this beautiful collection of music out in the world at a time when it couldn't be more relevant and welcome.”

Beyond DeWitt’s immersive orchestration, the 29-track album includes a number of notable guest appearances. In addition to starring on-screen, Soko lends her entrancing vocals to the eloquently dramatic “See You In The Dark,” which is out now alongside today’s preorder – listen here.  Elsewhere Lisa Liu and The Unison Orchestra add another dimension of elegance to “I Was So Sad The Day I Met You,” and Leah Zeger delivers emotional performances on “The Beginning,” “Let’s Get Married,” and “The Letter.”

Of “See You In The Dark,” SOKO says, “To be honest, I was a bit scared to have to play music in the film because I usually keep these two parts of my life completely separate and being a musician in a movie had always scared me. When Chad asked me to listen to the song for our ‘band,’ I loved it so much, and then he asked if I'd be down to go meet Keegan and record some vocals.  It was weird because I walked in there thinking the song was already perfect and didn't need anything else and I had already listened to it so much and loved Keegan's vocals on it. Then we started playing around in the studio and it felt very easy and I loved being a tiny part of this super special song.”

“I had been a big fan of Soko’s music for years, and I remember Chad sending me her audition tape and us both freaking out,” adds composer KEEGAN DEWITT of the collaboration. “She has a raw and visceral realness that, to me, is so brave and undeniably authentic. To sit down with her, share my song, and have her collaborate, was a total honor. She’s unrelentingly authentic, and it was totally refreshing to share the studio with her.”

As a memory loss virus runs rampant, one couple fights to hold their relationship together before the disease can erase all memory of their love in this sweeping sci-fi romance.

Keegan DeWitt is one of the more versatile and exciting young composers working in film and TV in 2020. Whether adding a refreshing voice to larger projects at HBO, Showtime and FOX, or collaborating alongside notable independent filmmakers; his work crosses a large tapestry of styles and demands attention with its originality and emotion.

Over the past 5 years, Keegan has brought 15 films to the Sundance Film Festival; titles that would go on to garner an Academy Award, multiple Sundance Audience Awards, and an Independent Spirit Award.

Most recently, he has collaborated with Netflix on All The Bright Places (Elle Fanning), Let It Snow (Kiernan Shipka) and most recently All Together Now (Auli’i Cravalho). In 2021, his work can be heard in the upcoming film Little Fish (Olivia Cooke), as well as TV shows A Teacher (AMC/Hulu with Kate Mara) and the Rashida Jones-produced Kevin Can F**K Himself (AMC).

Alongside his work as a composer, he has performed as a singer-songwriter and was founding member of the band Wild Cub. Their song "Thunder Clatter" found success at radio and took them around the globe, with appearances on Jimmy Fallon and Conan O’Brien.


Sony Music Masterworks comprises Masterworks, Sony Classical, Milan Records, OKeh, Portrait and Masterworks Broadway imprints. For email updates and information please visit
Jeremy [Six Strings]

No comments: