Get the latest score from Howlin' Wolf Records “DON'T GO IN THE HOUSE”, “HOLIDAY HELL” and “GOOD TID

Days Of Grace [2012] Nick Cave and Warren Ellis

Days Of Grace [2012]
Available: Digital April 3rd and CD May 1st
Released By: Lakeshore Records
Composer: Nick Cave/Warren Ellis/Various

Days of Grace (Días de Gracia) spans a period of 12 years and three different soccer World Cup competitions.  Each time period has a different style, exemplified by the three different sets of composers as described by director Everardo Gout.

The film, set in Mexico City and spanning three Soccer World Cups, features original score by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis (The Road, The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford), Academy Award™-winner Atticus Ross (The Social Network, The Book of Eli) with Leopold Ross & Claudia Sarne, and Shigeru Umebayashi (House of Flying Daggers, Curse of the Golden Flower, In the mood for Love, 2046).

01. The Shack - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
02. Mundial de Futbol/Vivir en México (Victim X dialogue) - Carlos Bardem
03. Wrong Bust - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
04. Hiena (Lupe's dialogue) - Tenoch Huerta
05. Butcher's Hook/Porcinos Mexicanos - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
06. Días de Gracia (Comandante's dialogue) - José Sefami
07. Here's a Little Jolt for You - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
08. Criminal Traicionado (Madrina's dialogue) - Verónica Falcón
09. Bronco - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
10. Burning the Shack - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
11. The Whack (Entering Kitchen) - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
12. Siempre hay alguien (Comandante's dialogue) - José Sefami
13. Destiny - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
14. Days of Grace - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
15. Buenos dias muchachito/Pecados (Teacher's dialogue) - Tenoch Huerta
16. Broken Time - Atticus Ross, Claudia Sarne & Leopold Ross
17. Kidnap - Atticus Ross, Claudia Sarne & Leopold Ross
18. Drugs - Atticus Ross, Claudia Sarne & Leopold Ross
19. Fear - Atticus Ross, Claudia Sarne & Leopold Ross
20. Revelations - Atticus Ross, Claudia Sarne & Leopold Ross
21. Hazla buena (Victim X dialogue) - Carlos Bardem
22. Quiero la verdad (Susana's dialogue) - Dolores Heredia
23. Sumado: The Echoes between Stories - Shigeru Umebayashi
24. Susana's Cello - Shigeru Umebayashi
25. Talking on the Water - Shigeru Umebayashi
26. Max's Brother and Susana's Daughter - Shigeru Umebayashi
27. One Way or Another - Shigeru Umebayashi
28. Her Emotions of Silent Thought - Shigeru Umebayashi
29. Not Knowing How Things Will End - Shigeru Umebayashi
30. Susana and Camila - Shigeru Umebayashi
31. Sumado: Cast the Shell - Shigeru Umebayashi
32. Song for Tula - Shigeru Umebayashi
33. Como dije (Victim X dialogue) - Carlos Bardem
34. Assault For La Coca - Bot'Ox
35. The Meat Song - Bot'Ox
36. Permanent Shade - Tim Goldsworthy, Euan Dickinson & Billy Fuller
37. Summertime - Scarlett Johansson vs. 3D
38. Vivir en México (Doroteo's dialogue) - Kristyan Ferrer
39. Kantele - Shigeru Umebayashi

There is many different styles on this Cd, I have the complaint of the tracks with the dialogue... I was never a fan of that on any soundtrack/score. You might enjoy it, it works if it's like "Duel Of The Fates" where they incorporate into the music, not a separate stand-alone track. Outside of that the music is very strong and will represent this film in the way it was intended to be.

-Jeremy [Two Thumbs]


No comments: