Get the latest score from Howlin' Wolf Records “DON'T GO IN THE HOUSE”, “HOLIDAY HELL” and “GOOD TID

Sparks & Shadows: Defiance TV [2013] - Bear McCreary

Sparks and Shadows, a new boutique record label founded by composer Bear McCreary, announces the release of the Defiance Original Television Soundtrack.  The album, containing 22 tracks of original score, original songs and cover songs as heard in the first season of Defiance, will be available through all digital providers on June 17th. 

Defiance gave McCreary the opportunity to write not only the underscore for the show but also songs for the multiple alien races.  “Scoring a project like Defiance is a rare situation for a composer,” said McCreary.   “I was asked to help bring the alien cultures to life by developing a distinct musical heritage for each. I fashioned Votan instrumentation and lyrics into a variety of popular songs and ceremonial pieces. I wrote pieces for street musicians that float through open-air marketplaces. I produced alien classical music, jingles, jazz, rock-anthems and torch songs.”

To perform these songs, McCreary called on collaborators that Syfy fans are sure to remember, vocalists Raya Yarbrough and Brendan McCreary, both of whom have worked with Bear on a number of series dating back to the Battlestar Galactica years. Bear also teamed with the band Young Beautiful in a Hurry (fronted by Brendan McCreary), for whom he directed the video “Don’t Stop Me Now.”

In the year 2046, it’s a new Earth – with new rules. Over thirty years after various alien races arrived on Earth, the landscape is completely altered, terraformed nearly beyond recognition. To the town of Defiance, on what used to be St. Louis, comes the mysterious Nolan (Grant Bowler) and his charge, Irisa (Stephanie Leonidas). As they settle into town – overseen by the mayor, Amanda Rosewater (Julie Benz) and filled with residents like the powerful Rafe McCawley (Graham Greene), enterprising lounge owner Kenya (Mia Kirshner) and the ambitious, alien Tarrs (Tony Curran and Jaime Murray) - events begin to unfold that threaten the fragile peace this border town has fought for. The series is executive produced by Kevin Murphy (Desperate Housewives, Caprica, Hellcats), who also serves as showrunner, Michael Taylor (Battlestar Galactica) and Rockne O’Bannon (Farscape). Scott Stewart (Legion, Priest) directed the pilot; Michael Nankin serves as supervising producer/director on the series. Defiance is produced by Universal Cable Productions.

As the events of Defiance unfold weekly on your TV screen, you can see how the residents’ struggles impact the game of Defiance, a high-octane, multi-platform experience from Trion Worlds! For the first time in history, a TV show and a game will exist concurrently in a shared universe, influencing and impacting the other!

“The town of Defiance is a melting pot,” McCreary described. “This new, terraformed Earth is an alien world to everyone, including the humans. No one is native, and several generations of Votan have been born and raised on Earth, making them literally Earthlings.”

McCreary continued, “The producers and I wanted to represent this idea with the music by merging Votan music with our own.  In the pilot, I firmly establish the sounds of Castithan and Irathient popular music, but in future episodes you will begin to hear this style merge with contemporary popular songs.” 

Track Listing:

01. Defiance Main Title
02. The Ritual of Perpetual Motion (feat. Raya Yarbrough)
03. Flirting with Disaster (Young Beautiful in a Hurry)
04. Before the Votans
05. Welcome to Defiance
06. Terraform My Heart (feat. Brendan McCreary)
07. Baby Blue (Young Beautiful in a Hurry)
08. Castithan Bath
09. Ooh Child (Raya Yarbrough)
10. Lost to the River (feat. Brendan McCreary)
11. Outside Over There (Young Beautiful in a Hurry)
12. Worth Dying For
13. Concerto for Insects
14. Time After Time (feat. Raya Yarbrough)
15. Besásh (feat. Raya Yarbrough and Brendan McCreary)
16. Kalagyi Anaila Kaziri
17. Courage Under Fire (Young Beautiful in a Hurry)
18. Battle of the Volge
19. Nolan and Irisa Reunite
20. Castithan Wedding Song (feat. Raya Yarbrough)
21. Lawkeeper
22. Gone Again (feat. Brendan McCreary)

Just Announced!
-Jeremy [Retro-Z]


1 comment:

Maurice Mitchell said...

McCreary always makes great music, but these titles are great. "Terraform my heart" is my new favorite title.