Get the latest score from Howlin' Wolf Records “DON'T GO IN THE HOUSE”, “HOLIDAY HELL” and “GOOD TID

Silva Screen Records: "CARTER BURWELL - MUSIC FOR FILM" Performed by the Brussels Philharmonic and conducted by Dirk Brosse.

Supported by the Film Fest Gent’s World Soundtrack Awards, Carter Burwell - Music For Film is the fifth release from the series and fourth on Silva Screen Records. Each year an outstanding film music composer is invited to present their work during the annual World Soundtrack Awards Gala & Concert and this year’s guest of honour is Carter Burwell. As part of the celebrations, Film Fest Gent and partner Brussels Philharmonic have recorded a CD of Carter Burwell’s music in advance of the concert, to be held on 17th October.

Burwell’s ground-breaking scores created for the quirky Coen Brothers films and his work for many other directors indicate a fierce originality and a strong feeling for the eccentric, the experimental and the minimalistic. His unique collaborations with the Coen Brothers started in 1984 with Blood Simple, followed by Miller’s Crossing , Fargo and No Country for Old Men. Other compelling and original scores from Burwell’s opus include Being John Malkovich, Twilight, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri. Burwell also has a long standing collaboration with American independent film director Todd Haynes and for his films, he has written enthralling and beautiful scores - Carol, Wonderstruck and Mildred Pierce.

“In reflecting on the honour that the Ghent Film Festival has paid me this year, I’ve looked back at the random path that’s brought me here. It had never been my intention to be a composer of film scores - or a composer at all. But after Joel and Ethan Coen bestowed that title on me with the film 'Blood Simple', and then asked me to write an orchestral score for 'Miller's Crossing' (knowing perfectly well I had no experience doing that), I began to believe that I was in some sense a composer and have tried to be worthy of that title.

A film composer is two things: a composer and a filmmaker. It’s not easy to separate these two things, and I generally find it off-putting to take the music, written for particular characters, particular dialogue, particular action, out of its context for performance on its own. In the case of the compositions presented here, I’m endlessly grateful to Dirk Brossé and the Brussels Philharmonic for giving the music its own life.” - Carter Burwell

Digital album: SILED1587
Release date: October 12, 2018

01. Miller’s Crossing - End Credits
02. Fargo - Fargo, North Dakota
03. The Spanish Prisoner
04. Gods and Monsters - Friend?
05. Being John Malkovich - Puppet Love
06. The Man Who Wasn’t There - The Trial of Ed Crane
07. In Bruges - Prologue / Medieval Waters
08. Twilight - Bella’s Lullaby
09. A Serious Man
10. True Grit - River Crossing / Talk About Suffering / The Wicked Flee
11. Mildred Pierce - Opening Titles
12. Olive Kitteridge - Olive Opening
13. Carol - Opening
14. Anomalisa - Overture
15. The Founder - Flags and Steeples
16. Hail, Caesar! - 5A.M. / Hail, Caesar!
17. Goodbye Christopher Robin - Drawing Pooh
18. Wonderstruck - Silent Whispers / Little Girl, Big City
19. Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri - My Dear Anne / Billboards on Fire

For more information visit 

Jeremy [Six Strings]

No comments: