Get the latest score from Howlin' Wolf Records “DON'T GO IN THE HOUSE”, “HOLIDAY HELL” and “GOOD TID

Silva Screen Records: "World Soundtrack Awards: Tribute To The Film Composer"

Elmer Bernstein * James Newton Howard * Carter Burwell * Alberto Iglesias * Elliot Goldenthal * Gabriel Yared * Jóhann Jóhannsson * John Williams * Nicholas Britell * Mychael Danna * Alexandre Desplat * Patrick Doyle * Michael Giacchino * Angelo Badalamenti.

Supported by the Film Fest Gent’s World Soundtrack Awards, Tribute To The Film Composer is the sixth release in the WSA series on Silva Screen Records. The music is performed by the Brussels Philharmonic and conducted by Dirk Brossé.

Every year, an outstanding film music composer is invited to present their work during the annual World Soundtrack Awards Gala & Concert and this year the spotlight is on past winners. The Academy is celebrating 20 years of the World Soundtrack Awards with an anniversary concert on 24th October and album devoted to all thirteen Awards winning composers.

Tribute To the Film Composer album highlights the variety of the composers’ output and it features exclusive premiere studio recordings. Some of the tracks are concert arrangements, adapted by the composer for a life beyond the film or TV score. Other tracks are new recordings of cues that have never been released on a soundtrack album or which were not even used in the film.

The album’s title is derived from the playful closing album track, John Williams’s 2002 homage to his peers. Lasting less than five minutes, the Tribute To The Film Composer piece skillfully weaves through 23 different film themes by various composers who were nearly all either acquaintances or very close friends of the legendary John Williams.

Due to Covid restrictions, this year’s online concert will be free for fans to watch and the organizers are hoping this will further widen the already International WSA fan-base.

Tribute To The Film Composer will be released on 23rd October in digital and CD formats.
Jeremy [Six Strings]

No comments: