Get the latest score from Howlin' Wolf Records “DON'T GO IN THE HOUSE”, “HOLIDAY HELL” and “GOOD TID

Lakeshore Records: STONEWALL [2015]

Lakeshore Records will release the STONEWALL – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on November 27, 2015. The album features original music by Rob Simonsen (THE AGE OF ADALINE, FOXCATCHER).

“We discussed embracing the sounds that were prevalent at that time,” said composer Simonsen. “Electrified instruments were the basis for most popular music at the time, electric guitars, Fender Rhodes, electric bass. Also drum kit, acoustic guitars. We wanted to capture an ‘on tape’ sound and feel like the score came from the era a bit.”

STONEWALL is a drama about a fictional young man caught up during the 1969 Stonewall riots. Danny Winters (Jeremy Irvine) is forced to leave behind friends and loved ones when he is kicked out of his parent’s home and flees to New York. Alone in Greenwich Village, homeless and destitute, he befriends Ray (Jonny Beauchamp) and a group of street kids who soon introduce him to the local watering hole The Stonewall Inn; however, this shady, mafia-run club is far from a safe-haven. As Danny and his friends experience discrimination, endure atrocities and are repeatedly harassed by the police, we see a rage begin to build. This emotion runs through the entire community of young gays, lesbians, drag queens and trans people who populate the Stonewall Inn and erupts in a storm of anger. With the toss of a single brick, a riot ensues and a crusade for equality is born.

“I think the opening scene, which establishes the main theme to Danny set up the heart of the character well, giving us that material to draw from throughout the film,” Simonsen described.

With a keen instinct for storytelling, Simonsen has established himself amongst a new wave of composers making a significant impact in the film industry. Under the mentorship of Mychael Danna, Simonsen apprenticed alongside one of the most respected film composers from the last two decades. In addition to co-scoring films like the Fox Searchlight hit (500) Days of Summer, Rob provided additional music for films including Moneyball and Life of Pi, the latter of which won the Academy Award for Best Original Score in 2013.

Working independently, Simonsen garnered two 2013 World Soundtrack Academy Award Nominations for the Sundance hits The Spectacular Now and The Way, Way BacK. The same year, he scored the global ad launch for Apple's iPhone 5 and provided the iconic piano music for their Everyday campaign.  His momentum continued in 2014, completing work on Zach Braff’s second feature, Wish I Was Here, and Bennett Miller’s multiple Oscar nominee Foxcatcher.

Simonsen is a co-founder of The Echo Society, a composer collective presenting an ongoing concert series in Los Angeles, providing composers, musicians and artists a new and exciting platform to create and perform progressive musical works.  

“Danny’s theme is played throughout,” said Simonsen. “It is about a tender hearted guy seeking community, acceptance and direction with his future. He’s a small town kid who comes to the big streets of NYC. There’s a love/friendship theme between Danny and Ray, played on Fender Rhodes.

01. A Whiter Shade of Pale - Procol Harum
02. Shadow of A Memory – The Silver Stars
03. It Ain’t Fair, But It’s Fun - The Fabulous Originals
04. I’ll Take You There – The Staples Singers
05. My Mind Goes High – M.C. 2
06. Danny – Rob Simonsen
07. Ray – Rob Simonsen
08. A Packed Suitcase – Rob Simonsen
09. Aren’t You My Friend, Danny – Rob Simonsen
10. Cinderella – Rob Simonsen
11. Riots Begin – Rob Simonsen
12. Unfinished Business – Rob Simonsen

Roadside Attractions presents STONEWALL in theaters now.  The STONEWALL – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack will be available digitally on November 27, 2015.

Lakeshore Records |

Just Announced! 
Jeremy [The Wolf]

No comments: