Get the latest score from Howlin' Wolf Records “DON'T GO IN THE HOUSE”, “HOLIDAY HELL” and “GOOD TID

MovieScore Media: "Short Cuts 2020"

MovieScore Media has produced a third volume in the label’s annual compilation series devoted to original music written for short films, Short Cuts 2020: The Best of Original Short Motion Picture Scores. At the same time, the label announces the creation of a completely new sub-label that will focus on the growing, much overlooked field of music from shorts.]

“Producing the third installment of the annual Short Cuts compilation was more of a challenge this time, most likely because of the limitations brought upon film production due to the pandemic,” said MovieScore Media’s producer Mikael Carlsson. “We were still able to collect an eclectic range of excellent original short film scores from both industry veterans and talented newcomers - the kind of wonderful mix that was aslo the trademark of the first two collections. The number of high quality short film scores out there is so impressive that working on these three compilation albums lead to the creation of a new MovieScore Media digital sub-label devoted exclusively to single and EP releases of short film scores. The label name? Short Cuts, of course!”

One of the scores featured on the Short Cuts 2020 compilation, Matthijs Kieboom’s award nominated music for The Cloudmaker, also marks the first release on the new Short Cuts label on May 14, 2021. Other notable works featured on the 15 track compilation album are the multiple award-winning shorts Javelina Run (music by Steffen Schmidt), A Father’s Job (Robin Hoffmann), Sclera Absentia (Joe Kraemer) and Altered Mind of 20-20 (Elia Cmiral).

MovieScore Media and its sub-label Screamworks Records have released over 400 soundtrack albums since the launch of the company in 2006. With its special knack for identifying up and coming talent, MovieScore Media was the first label to release music by many of the hottest composers in Hollywood today, including Benjamin Wallfisch (the composer of Blade Runner 2049 and It), who had his first MovieScore Media album of seven released in 2006; Daniel Pemberton (the composer of The Man from U.N.C.L.E and Enola Holmes), who had five MovieScore Media albums released before his big Hollywood break; and Pinar Toprak (the composer of Captain Marvel) who had her tender score for The Lightkeepers released by MovieScore Media ten years ago.
Among the many acclaimed albums in the MovieScore Media catalogue are soundtracks for Let the Right One In (Johan Söderqvist), four volumes of TV series Merlin (Rob Lane et al), Centurion (Ilan Eshkeri), A Royal Affair (Cyrille Aufort & Gabriel Yared), Mathilde (Marco Beltrami) and Stalingrad (Angelo Badalamenti). In its ‘Discovery Collection’, MovieScore Media has released world premiere recordings of scores by esteemed composers such as Michael Kamen, Basil Poledouris, Patrick Doyle, David Shire and Dario Marianelli. In 2012, an album released by MovieScore Media’s sub-label Screamworks Records, The Shrine (music by Ryan Shore), was nominated for a Grammy Award in the ‘Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media’ category.

Since 2018, MovieScore Media focuses on album production and digital distribution, and releases its albums in CD format through other partner labels, including Quartet Records, Music Box Records and Kronos Records. Albums are available digitally from all major digital platforms, including iTunes, Spotify, Amazon, Google Play and Apple Music. Since 2021, MovieScore Media’s digital releases are distributed exclusively by Symphonic Distribution.
Jeremy [Six Strings]

No comments: