Get the latest score from Howlin' Wolf Records “DON'T GO IN THE HOUSE”, “HOLIDAY HELL” and “GOOD TID

Varese Sarabande: SHAMELESS [2014]

Featuring US Debut of “Written Down” From Season 4, Songs By The Moog, The Wild Yaks,
Chris Pureka, and the Theme Song “The Luck You Got” by The High Strung
(March 31, 2014– Los Angeles, CA) – Varèse Sarabande Records will release SHAMELESS Music From The Television Series available digitally and on CD April 15, 2014.  Included on the soundtrack is the opening song from season four, “Written Down” by David E. Sugar, making its first U.S. release.

The music featured on the critically acclaimed SHOWTIME series SHAMELESS tries to capture the individual, non-conformist nature of the Gallagher world.  Most often the music isn't playing as a piece that a character puts on the stereo to listen to, rather it plays more as score, as the soundtrack to a Gallagher life.  The first four seasons of the show have used over 750 songs.  Series Music Supervisor Ann Kline distilled that down to 14 tracks that are most representative of the show.

“It was really hard narrowing the track list down!” said Kline.  “We tried to include songs that really captured the essence of the show.  So, some of the tracks are wild, some quirky and some are really sad, but all are SHAMELESS.  Hopefully we can put out some follow up soundtracks, because there were tons more songs we would have loved to include, many of which are hard to find.”

The album kicks off with the theme song, “The Luck You Got” by The High Strung.  The album also captures the ‘wild side’ with bands like: The Moog, The Wild Yaks, FidLAr, Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band, and the more heartbreaking side, with tracks like “Years” by JBM and “Hangman” by Chris Pureka.

“One of the things that makes SHAMELESS so compelling, is the depth of the characters,” explained Kline.  “Although the Gallaghers are far from perfect, they aren’t one dimensional, and they each have characteristics that make you love them and root for them.  We tried to use music that hit those emotions as well, that help you feel their inner struggle between their hard circumstances and their desires to live a more carefree life.”

Oscar®-nominated William H. Macy and Emmy Rossum star in this fiercely engaging and fearlessly twisted series. Chicagoan Frank Gallagher is the proud single dad of six smart, industrious, independent kids, who without him would be...perhaps better off. When Frank's not at the bar spending what little money they have, he's passed out on the floor. But the kids have found ways to grow up in spite of him. They may not be like any family you know, but they make no apologies for being exactly who they are.

Track List:
1. The Luck You Got • The High Strung (Main Title)
2. Survive • The Moog
3. Loved You All Along • La Strada
4. Black Cloud • Choo Choo La Rouge
5. Wait For The Man • Fidlar
6. Something For Nothing • Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band
7. Tomahawk • Wild Yaks
8. Who's That Dude - Part One • Capital City
9. Years • JBM
10. Hangman • Chris Pureka
11. The Usual Chords • Slow Runner
12. Three Days On End • Blood Relative
13. Keep It Coming • Letters
14. Written Down • David E. Sugar

Produced by Bonanza Productions, Inc. in association with John Wells Productions and Warner Bros. Television, the fourth season of SHAMELESS airs Sunday nights at 9/8c on SHOWTIME.  SHAMELESS Music From The Television Series, from Varèse Sarabande Records, will be available digitally and on CD April 15, 2014.

No comments: